Audi R8 V8 review - see why it's a £40,000 bargain supercar!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Feb 21, 2021
  • This review of the original Audi R8 is in partnership with Stereo. Download Stereo and follow me there to check out my latest show with Yianni: stereo.com/matwatsoncars
    While you are there, please follow me on the Stereo app for more shows.
    The Audi R8 V8 is an instant classic. When it was released in 2007 it showed that Audi could build a genuine rival to the Porsche 911.
    With a mid-mounted 4.2-litre naturally aspirated V8 with 420hp combined with Quattro all-wheel drive, the R8 had the performance to match its futuristic looks. A few years later the addition of the 5.2-litre V10 from the Lamborghini Gallardo transformed the R8 from a sports car into a supercar.
    In this video I review this 2007 version of the R8, talk through common faults to look out for as part of a buying guide, take it for a drive and see how quick the it can accelerate from 0-60mph.
  • Autos & Vehicles

Comments • 70

  • Daniel Usoltsev
    Daniel Usoltsev 8 hours ago

    I bought one myself and is just the best thing ever. It’s perfect as a daily driver, if you want to go on a trip it’s actually amazing how comfortable it is. Please Mat, get one!

  • JammyJunior
    JammyJunior 8 hours ago

    They are just a bit slow, they look great

  • Mark's Cars
    Mark's Cars 9 hours ago

    I wonder if German-speaking channel presenters also attempt 1970s-style British accents in the name of very misguided humour.

  • F A
    F A 10 hours ago

    YEAHHHH get one Matt!!!!

  • Janson
    Janson 14 hours ago

    This car still looks good after all this time

  • Paully.G
    Paully.G 21 hour ago

    found an 2008 one £29,000 just need to save a bit more 😂

  • Oliver Crazy Tod
    Oliver Crazy Tod 22 hours ago

    Gret review

  • Daz Morland
    Daz Morland Day ago

    My mate had a 2008 one last year and threw it in a ditch, and wrote it off! He let me have a go before he binned it, and it was awesome. Automatic with paddle shift on the wheel, nice :)

  • Stop busting my balls

    I have the feeling you don’t have to tell me about the app but you just like being paid to tell me about

  • buk kuk
    buk kuk 2 days ago

    great design ....
    .. new ones look .. messy ...

  • fffwe
    fffwe 2 days ago +1

    Drivers fear for safety as years-long recall fails to catch some engine failures
    watch?v=2iaMHhWkSNw
    everyone should watch this CBC documentary.

  • Fair Human
    Fair Human 2 days ago

    It looks dated now

  • 김병석
    김병석 2 days ago

    flash-player.org/video/Rg1NBUGaWIs-video.html

  • Max
    Max 2 days ago

    Get the google pixel 5!

  • R8 Pilot
    R8 Pilot 2 days ago

    Had one and blew a engine at just 6 months old in 2008 on the track(timing chain failed big).Audi was the best and so good at looking after me I bought another 2 variants over the next 4 years Moved onto Porsche since but your review Matt is spot on in regards to the drive and design of the classic R8.

  • Gavin Green
    Gavin Green 3 days ago

    my tuned 2005 4.2l Audi S4 does 0-60 in 5.0 😅, although it is an auto and im sure this R8 could do a lot better run with a new clutch and better conditions

  • Harrhys Rafiq
    Harrhys Rafiq 3 days ago

    It shouldn’t really be a question to buy an r8, it should be “ when I buy an r8” In other words... yes Matt, but one

  • kostokaroto
    kostokaroto 3 days ago

    Let's see how many subscribers can I get from this video

  • James Baxter
    James Baxter 3 days ago

    I run performance and supercar road rally events and everyone's always so shocked when I tell them I've never had points! 😂 Audi's infotainment systems felt dated when they were new! At least it's a simple job to swap it out. You priced very high for those jobs, a clutch job on this is £1k at almost any indy inc. parts. The mag suspension is expensive, around £2500 inc. parts, but you can convert to standard suspension and have it coded out.

  • James Baxter
    James Baxter 3 days ago

    Looks so much nicer than the newer designs

  • Donger
    Donger 3 days ago

    Get the V8

  • Simon Alexander Critchley

    A bargain at 40,000 quid ,but you need another 40K to maintain and replace parts,just saying...

  • kolim jone
    kolim jone 4 days ago

    Definitely a futur classic but I'd spend the extra money on the v10

  • ANDREW GOOCH
    ANDREW GOOCH 4 days ago

    Get one and let Yanni wrap it!!

  • Matthew Lansdown
    Matthew Lansdown 4 days ago

    Get one that car is amazing I'd rather get the audi than the tesla model s

  • Balazs Pinter
    Balazs Pinter 4 days ago

    Actually DONT EVER TOUCH IT... 🤣🤣🤣

  • mark labuschagne
    mark labuschagne 4 days ago

    Then gear changes be so slow

    • kolim jone
      kolim jone 4 days ago

      I'd much rather see someone else driving that car than own it myself... so I can see it and say ' yep, that was nice' and get on with the rest of my day with more money in the ba

  • Lewis White
    Lewis White 4 days ago

    Or buy a f10 m5 for 5 k cheaper that is also faster

  • shardox1404 Sk
    shardox1404 Sk 4 days ago

    Damn bro you work

  • ΠΝΞ
    ΠΝΞ 5 days ago

    hahahahaa me as a german,
    when Matt everytime tries to speak german with culture 😆

  • Proxer Gaming
    Proxer Gaming 5 days ago

    3 youtubers comment in this video

  • VJP
    VJP 5 days ago

    I do love this car. Super nice!

  • redraider 55
    redraider 55 5 days ago

    Love your reviews,no bull just straight as it is,great stuff.

  • Tristan Drew
    Tristan Drew 5 days ago

    Nice car but not really aupercar performance, same in straight line as my m140. Which, if I had 40k I'd have the 140 for 20k and 20k left for a new Aprilia RSV4 1100 thankyou very much :)

  • soiung toiue
    soiung toiue 5 days ago

    Even though it has a V8 underneath, that back glass still has heater wires 🤔

  • FixxxeR208
    FixxxeR208 5 days ago

    Yes we know it's the 2007 R8

  • iamvolant
    iamvolant 5 days ago

    orrr just get an f type v6

  • Dirty Biker
    Dirty Biker 5 days ago

    I honestly love the car and especially that gated shifter being a Manual Elitist! Though I'm quite surprised to learn it's slower to 60mph than my 2014 WRX 5-speed. Before a tune, I was getting 4.6 on the 0-60 in a sedan with a huge trunk. I'd love to catch one at the Tail of the Dragon and see if it can keep up, lol.

    • soiung toiue
      soiung toiue 5 days ago

      I could afford to buy one but it’s the maintenance that worries me

  • VDPEFi
    VDPEFi 5 days ago

    Well obviously you should get one! My wife who doesn't really care at all about cars and drives a diesel Skoda still ranks this as her dream car ever since she first saw one. There definitely is a timelessness to them.

  • Filip Rybárik
    Filip Rybárik 6 days ago

    Nfs Carbon

  • luminor007
    luminor007 6 days ago

    I'd much rather see someone else driving that car than own it myself... so I can see it and say ' yep, that was nice' and get on with the rest of my day with more money in the bank.

  • Mark Levin
    Mark Levin 6 days ago

    New Audio system=£400....Aux cable=£2 and your phone battery lasts longer too.

  • luminor007
    luminor007 6 days ago

    I thought Alan Partridge drove a Lexus?

  • luminor007
    luminor007 6 days ago +1

    It's a Bargain!! Until it breaks and your in debt.

  • Ailsa Ni
    Ailsa Ni 6 days ago

    Get one! My dream car ever since it was released! One day I will own one, just need to work another 20 years at this rate to even be able to consider it 😭🤣

  • Frank luxobzor
    Frank luxobzor 6 days ago

    Love your chanel. Great video,great car.
    One day i will do review on one like this as well.

  • Oliver Crazy Tod
    Oliver Crazy Tod 6 days ago

    I think that you should get one. It would be great for content and they are very cheap for a supercar!

  • matiss hansens
    matiss hansens 6 days ago

    You shouldnt get 1 car u have to get moreeee

    • Ailsa Ni
      Ailsa Ni 6 days ago

      Mats almost becoming yianni with all his cars.

  • Sergio S
    Sergio S 7 days ago +1

    Matt, pone este canal es Español porfa!!! Saludos desde Argentina.

  • Aaron P
    Aaron P 7 days ago

    Dream car right here, as long as you got the cash to maintain it

  • Tdot Eva
    Tdot Eva 7 days ago

    Yes get one

  • HereIgoAgain
    HereIgoAgain 7 days ago

    Love Audi's design language from that period. Not a big fan of the current one.

  • jack mason
    jack mason 7 days ago

    I could afford to buy one but it’s the maintenance that worries me

  • Nath Media
    Nath Media 7 days ago

    Love the content keep it up

  • Viktor Balko
    Viktor Balko 7 days ago

    Definitely get one

  • suburbans nation
    suburbans nation 7 days ago

    I didnt know English talk in miles??? WTF? Americanized? You stupid people, i stop watching your shows. Miles??? LOOOOL

  • NicJaac
    NicJaac 7 days ago

    Matt. Goodbye to your Porsche, and hello to your new Audi R8 V8

  • CatsExe
    CatsExe 7 days ago

    This car was the first supercar that i loved amd first time when i become audi fanboi

  • oiuet souiu
    oiuet souiu 7 days ago

    this is the exact car that Top gear tested back when it was new

  • Khadija Shaheen
    Khadija Shaheen 7 days ago

    Hi hi

  • Hare Brahs
    Hare Brahs 7 days ago

    R8 looks as sterile as a hospital corridor, no thanks.

  • Nfsmw_fan
    Nfsmw_fan 7 days ago

    vw i want: this r8
    vw i have: 07’ passat

  • Ibrahim Ahmed
    Ibrahim Ahmed 7 days ago +1

    Mats almost becoming yianni with all his cars.

  • Rory Single
    Rory Single 7 days ago

    Buy one

  • Midwest To Metropolis

    The question is... Base C8 corvette or V8 R8?

  • Bolia Fops
    Bolia Fops 7 days ago

    As follows ;) 1. R8 future classic. 2. My dream car 3. Buy one!

  • Tun Piccolo
    Tun Piccolo 7 days ago +5

    me with 600 bucks salary:
    It's a bargain!

  • Christopher Edwards
    Christopher Edwards 7 days ago

    We’re you at Clarkson’s farm!?

  • keith wilkins
    keith wilkins 7 days ago

    What is progress ,then ?

    • Bolia Fops
      Bolia Fops 7 days ago

      In finland here, this costs $150,000 lmao

  • keio
    keio 7 days ago

    Those front brake discs arent even that badly priced for a super car. The front brake discs on an astra j vxr are at around £500 per disc 🤣