Gemini Man - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 3 592

  • DR FR0STii
    DR FR0STii 2 hours ago +1

    Just saw it, thought it was dumb fun, had a good time.

  • Guerrier De Lumière
    Guerrier De Lumière 5 hours ago

    I saw it it's definitely not Joker but it's not so bad. I give it a C

  • Ronin H
    Ronin H 8 hours ago

    That t shirt is soo good and distracting at the same time ..
    I love it..!!

  • bambi_gunz
    bambi_gunz 9 hours ago

    What am I, some kind of Gemini Man?

  • kim bye
    kim bye 11 hours ago

    Will Smith is one of those actors I just shy away from, sure he`s been in some ok films like Enemy of State and Ali, but other than that it`s mostly shitty films and now he is "cloning" himself and dragging his kid into movies and he seems to have the same stick!

  • dar213311
    dar213311 12 hours ago

    Thank you!! I've been trying to figure out why I can't stand watching my new flat screens and when I tell people everything looks like a soap opera they think I'm crazy. I had no idea it had to do with the frame rate. I can't use my phone camera half the time so I'm obviously dumb in this area.

  • TJ Booker
    TJ Booker 13 hours ago

    No one wants to see the Fresh Prince version of Will Smith in an action movie except maybe Will Smith's narcissist shark.

  • NintendoCapriSun
    NintendoCapriSun 15 hours ago

    24 FPS in Cleveland? In that case, I guess it's safe to assume that when I went and saw it in the theater here in Marion, that was also 24 FPS then. Haha

  • crazyleg2006
    crazyleg2006 16 hours ago

    The CGI of Old Will Smith riding the motorcycle is absolutely laughable---it's so bad.

  • YoungBlaze
    YoungBlaze 20 hours ago +1

    To be fair if i made another me from another person i would ask the same questions......oh wait
    A Son

  • YoungBlaze
    YoungBlaze 20 hours ago +1

    If this was a fast and furious plot : it would do a gazillion dollars

  • YoungBlaze
    YoungBlaze 20 hours ago +1

    Hey have you guys heard of a movie called *LOOPER*

  • Elijah Ford
    Elijah Ford 21 hour ago

    Did not care for the trailer however I love will smith and decided to give it a shot I personally LOVED the movie not sure why so many negative reviews it was A+ in my book

  • Kev Frazier
    Kev Frazier Day ago

    Gemini man is not awful but has awful moments with a very simplistic script. Ok nvm it was kinda boring outside of good action scenes, the plot itself was predictable as hell. No shock factor at all

  • Howard s
    Howard s Day ago

    Double dragon Face off that movie Arnold did. Just give me the action

  • Josh Poke
    Josh Poke Day ago

    Awesome T-shirt Chris

  • Matt MSW
    Matt MSW Day ago

    Films like this should never be this bad.

  • CookieBaBa
    CookieBaBa Day ago

    "Marvel's done a pretty good job with it, It Chapter 2 I thought was awful"

  • Ronaldo Malcom
    Ronaldo Malcom Day ago

    So I'm assuming you read the script... otherwise it seems pretty presumptuous to assume what the script writers action specifically entailed

  • Chork MaLork
    Chork MaLork Day ago

    MOAR FRAMES

  • ShawntreezyBreezy

    It was a good watch, pretty simple does not need to be so analyzed

  • David Cole
    David Cole Day ago

    I saw this earlier in the Week. The Movie was OK, but have to say the Special 3D Plus High Frame Rate Version was pretty cool. Never seen a 3D movie this way before and wow does it make a difference. Had I seen this movie in 2D I would have given it a 6 out of 10, but just because of the cool experience of 3D Plus give it 7.5 out of 10. Worth seeing if you are into 3D Movies you can't get at home.

  • Cube
    Cube Day ago

    Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon was a complete joke. My entire family had a good laugh at how stupid and ridiculous that film was. I think you've lost a lot of credibility with me...

  • FrankNitty 3000
    FrankNitty 3000 Day ago

    There’s a round table on the Hollywood Reporter where Will talks about the story he got offered Django Unchained and he refused it because he wanted to change the script and have Django be more of a “hero type character”. Not surprised if he would have rewritten Gemini Man around the red table with Jada. 🤦🏽‍♂️

  • Colton Elliott
    Colton Elliott Day ago

    Gemini reminds me of what Will Smith wanted Jaden Smith wanted to become.

  • MotherTouching-Ninjas

    This movie was meh. Thought it was very predictable and dry . 5/10

  • TheCondorjc
    TheCondorjc Day ago

    I’d sell my parents on Amazon if I were named “Benedict Wong”
    Think about it...

  • eliwj
    eliwj Day ago

    The 120 FPS was like nothing I’d seen before. And combined with the 3D made it feel like I was looking through a magical View Master with reality somehow projected inside it.

  • lazer tag
    lazer tag 2 days ago

    the HFR for action scenes is pretty dam amazing.. everything so clear

  • Zak A-R
    Zak A-R 2 days ago

    Will Smith just selected garbage scripts

  • Ryan Slater
    Ryan Slater 2 days ago

    Will smith makes another shit movie? Not surprised

  • Thomas Kishman II
    Thomas Kishman II 2 days ago

    If Netflix shot an HD movie.

  • Satan Lover13
    Satan Lover13 2 days ago

    I thought this movie would be about Will Smith the younger along side MAry Elizabeth as a plucky young teem of youngsters who are just doing their job and there all brainwashed and Will Smiths dad is an old terrorist guy gone crazy who has to make him realise that he's a clone and that his reality is a lie. I'm so glad I didn't get that movie.
    I was pleasontly surprised when I got what I got, Mery Elizabeth being competent but not ver abnoxiouse about it, she seemed smart I really like the chemistry between her and Will senior. I kind of want to see the series now, this would make a great show.

  • Lalanatural
    Lalanatural 2 days ago +2

    I really liked the movie! That’s why it’s important to gather your own opinion. Good vibes leaving the theatre 💯

  • Kevin Walter
    Kevin Walter 2 days ago

    I knew it would this movie would suck its a fucking stupid idea. I like will smith but this idea is fucking unattractive those who spend money on this just are out of touch what audiences wants

  • Darth Maboomba
    Darth Maboomba 2 days ago

    This isn’t a perfect movie, but it definitely deserves more than what it’s being given by a lot of critics.
    Will Smith smashes both performances, young and old(er).
    Really enjoyed the plot line, even though it did admittedly have its flaws.
    The de-aging technology was great up until the finishing sequences - whether these scenes were an afterthought, which hindered production, I don’t know.
    4/5 stars and a B+ from me.

  • Daniel E Burke
    Daniel E Burke 2 days ago

    This was an awful film.

  • MorganaRoxton
    MorganaRoxton 2 days ago

    Is the high-frame-rate why so many of the fight scenes looked so weird? I just assumed it was bad CGI, everything was just moving too quickly, it didn't look real.

  • Ze Atheist
    Ze Atheist 2 days ago

    Just dropped it like bomb

  • Brooks Orlando
    Brooks Orlando 2 days ago +1

    This movie sucked

  • REE ANIMATION
    REE ANIMATION 2 days ago

    It's one of the most boring movies I have seen in a long time... And why are the fist fights CGI? Looks extremely weird.. I think the HFR made the CGI look worse...

  • Victor Vasconcellos
    Victor Vasconcellos 2 days ago

    Is it fun though? I'd judge this by the same standard as Hobbs and Shaw. I'm not going to see fantastic writing and a groundbreaking story.

  • deion burnett
    deion burnett 2 days ago +1

    Me throughout the whole video:
    “Yup. Pretty much”

  • zeramino
    zeramino 2 days ago

    So you're telling us that people are supposed to easily understand that they have been cloned? Of course I would need someone to repeat it before it sinks in. Also, if I were a clone, I'd be confused as hell.

  • Akir Rahim
    Akir Rahim 3 days ago +1

    I Really enjoyed this Movie!

  • Soumen Talukder
    Soumen Talukder 3 days ago

    Lol, so it wasn’t just me being in a grumpy mood while watching it... this was a surprisingly unengaging and mediocre feeling movie, despite the awesome director, A list star and some cool action sequences... and yea at the end I was like WTF is with the early 2000s looking CGI.. scenes in dim lighting had pretty impressive young Will Smith... weak script was apparent

  • horrormoviesmetoo
    horrormoviesmetoo 3 days ago

    I 100% agree with your review

  • john carambat
    john carambat 3 days ago

    Good review and better shirt

  • jcru40
    jcru40 3 days ago +1

    Disagree it was good

    • baole58
      baole58 2 days ago

      @Science Enthusiast because will smith was in it.

    • Science Enthusiast
      Science Enthusiast 2 days ago

      jcru40 Explain. Why was it good?

  • Flash Gordon
    Flash Gordon 3 days ago

    I think part of the problem for me was that Will Smith's character was way too likable to be a bad-ass assassin. Granted, he was a government assassin, but still - 72 kills, I think he said, and he's still a lovable, laid-back dude, with some nightmares (and not about killing people, mind you), and that's about it. As a result, it really wasn't clear what made him so remarkable that he was the one they chose to clone - and only him (that point is made), and why we should care that he was cloned. There were a couple of other points that were hard to believe and way too convenient for the story that I can't get into without spoilers, but that was a biggie for me.

  • Ethan Conner
    Ethan Conner 3 days ago +2

    First I thought that was a Michael Jackson Thriller Album shirt you were wearing

  • BIO KILLER
    BIO KILLER 3 days ago +1

    Meh, I enjoyed the film to each to their own.

    • CircusKing
      CircusKing 2 days ago

      BIO KILLER that you are part of the problem.

  • Asip
    Asip 3 days ago

    and nobody say about they Gun-Fu-ing

  • Sun Tzu
    Sun Tzu 3 days ago +35

    So David Benioff is now responsible for two of the worst written scripts of 2019? Nice

  • Josh S-TV
    Josh S-TV 3 days ago

    I only care about Ang Lee's 2003 Hulk film. Not a fan of him as director.

  • truwho82
    truwho82 3 days ago

    I refuse to believe anything can be worse than Replicas (with Keanu Reeves) this year.

  • Mexican Monkey
    Mexican Monkey 3 days ago

    I came into this movie with low expectations. I saw the trailer and it looked like just another generic action movie with some choppy CGI, but I wanted to give it a chance since Will Smith is in it. I left the theater surprised, I kind of enjoyed this movie. at some points the de-aging effects where stunning at other points you couldn't help but cringe. the dirt bike fight scene I was really conflicted on it, in my mind i kept asking is this cool or just gross, i'm in the middle between cool and gross. idk what to think of this movie. I gave it a 6.5 maybe thats to high, this might be a guilty pleasure of mine.

  • Annamma Varughese
    Annamma Varughese 3 days ago

    Completely agree with this. This movie was sh$&@...

  • Bloody Fox
    Bloody Fox 3 days ago

    I'm very upset you didn't talk about will smiths relationship with the the girl. am i the only one who thought it was weird?

  • PD Zombie
    PD Zombie 3 days ago

    I guess some executive said: "How much would you pay to see the guy from Independance Day beat the guy from In the pursuit of happiness" And then we said, "No, you'd have to pays us to see that movie". Thanx, Chris...

  • Lion Rises Productions

    Dude I love your shirt.

  • Runs with Bulls
    Runs with Bulls 3 days ago +1

    That motorcycle scene was awesome. I liked how he used the bike. Just ruthless.
    The methodically executed gun fight between Will and his Clone was also fun to witness.
    The second to last death was visually beautiful.
    I saw the movie in IMAX and I don't regret watching the film or feel that it was a waste of time, it was visually stunning.
    Although I agree that the cgi- young Will-was incredibly believable until the very last awkward scene.
    The script was awful no doubt.
    Am I going to watch it again? No. Highly doubt it. Just not enough going on.

  • Steve Guzman
    Steve Guzman 3 days ago

    yea, it was bad. A premise with such promise, but could have been so much better.

  • Moises Gonzalez
    Moises Gonzalez 3 days ago +1

    David Benioff... The joke writes itself
    I Will never watch anything directed, written or even remotely related to him.

  • ChiliContestWinner
    ChiliContestWinner 3 days ago +4

    This movie was so bad I wanted to leave and sneak into the theater next door that had the Joker playing and watch it again. I stuck it out because I ain't no quitter!

    • Lee McQueen
      Lee McQueen 47 minutes ago

      SnappyTappy It’s not.

    • SnappyTappy
      SnappyTappy Day ago

      Bro ls crazy the movie was good

    • CircusKing
      CircusKing 3 days ago

      ChiliContestWinner Joker is Better.

  • Andrew Lemmon
    Andrew Lemmon 3 days ago

    Your shirt's on a whole other level of epicness dude

  • ANT-METAL
    ANT-METAL 3 days ago

    Crouching tiger was fucking boring..and there isn't one single second of young Will Smith shown anywhere that is acceptable. It's embarrassing.

  • hahatime12
    hahatime12 3 days ago

    I mean if you don’t take the movie seriously, it’s a good cheesy movie.

  • Michael Thomas
    Michael Thomas 3 days ago

    Simpson's already did motorcycle dueling.

  • MOBROOKS
    MOBROOKS 3 days ago +1

    I loved it as well because I saw it in 3D HFR the way it was intended to be seen.
    Ang Lee was very specific about that.
    Watching this film in 2d with a low frame rate and then talking shit about it is like buying a ferrari and driving it on a gravel road and then calling the ferrari an overrated piece of crap.

  • MOBROOKS
    MOBROOKS 3 days ago +1

    Loved this film.
    It was so well shot.
    The 3D experience was the best I’ve seen since Gravity.
    I loved the clarity, and refresh rate.
    Plus, there were no jump cuts and quick edits during the action sequences and fight scenes which were a gift from heaven.
    I hate jump cuts and shaky cam during action sequences.
    Hey Chris, ya know how you feel about about jump scares in horror movies?
    Well that’s how I feel about shaky cam and jump cuts in action movies.
    So I applaud Ang for trying to push the film industry forward even though this film is not perfect.
    So yeah I whole hearted support this film.

  • Diogo Desiderati
    Diogo Desiderati 4 days ago

    120fps made me dizzy and unconfortable. The lighting was all weird and the 3d sucked ass, like, things on background were doubled, etc. Bro, watch it on 3d 120fps, i felt weird all The time

    • Diogo Desiderati
      Diogo Desiderati 3 days ago

      And more, most things important to the plot Happens off screen and the sets, c'mon, it looked like a fancy tour trough those countries. Only major touristic sites!

  • නිෂාන් සුගතදාස Nishan Sugathadasa

    Knowing After Earth failed, why would Will agree to do this script. It is not good for his career. Maybe some expert can explain this.

    • General Awesome
      General Awesome 21 hour ago

      Cause people who watched and like Will Smith in his prime will always go to see his movies.

  • Pepe Priest
    Pepe Priest 4 days ago

    Well, at least this demonstrates a movie has no need of pc/feminism/sjw for been a piece of crap

  • Tammie Brown
    Tammie Brown 4 days ago

    😂🤣😂🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
    This reviews

  • litosquest
    litosquest 4 days ago

    I like the movie but its more of a rental the CGI was really bad at times laughable. And it's TRUE the writing was a bit off. But overall it had some good action scenes. If you can wait just wait till redbox has it it's not worth spending money in the theaters for. Instead go see JOKER now that was good!

  • KingK21 !!!
    KingK21 !!! 4 days ago

    I really believe that after the years and years of it being in development hell, Ang Lee was so damn excited (rightfully so) that this film is finally being made and maybe felt pressure of trying to make a great film to prove to everyone who rejected this film, that they were wrong...that it ended up being rushed and just sloppily put together. From CGI to editing to the plot to the dialogue, it is a mind boggling bad. My god

  • Keir Bourne
    Keir Bourne 4 days ago

    I thought the high frame rate made the action look amazing. For slower scenes it can be jarring as we are just not used to it and associate that fps with TV. But it 100% works for the action in a way that I can't really describe. Makes it feel so immediate and tangible. I look forward to seeing what future filmmakers do in this setting.

  • Wayne A. Pollock
    Wayne A. Pollock 4 days ago

    They should apply the digital de-ageing technology to an Eddie Murphy Nutty Professor Film where he de-ages himself to get laid, but he still moves and thinks like an old man.

  • Wayne A. Pollock
    Wayne A. Pollock 4 days ago

    I didn’t mind it, but they should have leaned into the silliness as Smith played it way too seriously. It had more potential as an action comedy.

  • k k
    k k 4 days ago

    The ending twist would've ve been more interesting if Will and the younger version had to band together to face something entirely stronger since will decides to be his New father and way

  • Wayne A. Pollock
    Wayne A. Pollock 4 days ago

    Benioff also got a story credit. So I’m gonna lay this one on him.

  • Hooknosed Jack
    Hooknosed Jack 4 days ago +11

    "David Benioff"

    Oh that's why...

  • random guy
    random guy 4 days ago

    the villain was actually the good guy

  • Tiffany Morgan
    Tiffany Morgan 4 days ago +74

    Could've been worse...they could have cast Jaden Smith as the clone...

    • fbxf
      fbxf 14 hours ago

      Hahahahaha that would be so amazingly awful

    • azm2121
      azm2121 21 hour ago +2

      Honestly, I think they should have casted him. That’s actually a good idea.

    • JP
      JP Day ago

      Apparently they did, and just used his body as a double.

    • Rikai Turner
      Rikai Turner 2 days ago

      Lalanatural facts

    • Lalanatural
      Lalanatural 2 days ago +2

      Tiffany Morgan Weird how losers like you attack Jaden. He’s out trying to save lives and the planet. What are you doing?🙄

  • Gruagach. Eire
    Gruagach. Eire 4 days ago +1

    One half of Dumb & Dumber writing on this then not even Ang Lee could save it, shame, if its bad then Dave is the involved in ballsing it up.

  • mark thorpe
    mark thorpe 4 days ago

    Will Smith----Congrats on another no plot story. Turkey Gobbler. Movie lost all interest for me 1/3rd of the way thru. He saw his younger twin shooting at him thru his rifle scope. A too long motorcycle chase scene between Smith and his 20 year younger self. The story wrote itself after that. Naturally we knew will smith and his younger self would join forces and kill the bad guys in the end! Will Smith is a polished no talent turd who has money to back up his no talent movies. Fresh Prince was and ever more shall be his high water mark.

  • BonDraper
    BonDraper 4 days ago +22

    Some how those goofy ass fast and furious movies get a pass

    • Tobby Isiba
      Tobby Isiba Day ago

      The rock and Jason statam are not on the same level as will Smith,he is known for good shit and this movie was a meh.people have high expectations going in because it's will smith.

    • Lalanatural
      Lalanatural 2 days ago +2

      Exactly

  • Dave Aultman
    Dave Aultman 4 days ago

    Were your smoking something bad when you saw this? In a bad mood? LOL.
    I don’t always agree fully with your reviews, but I’ve never felt you to just be SO WRONG.
    This was fun, filmed beautifully, most of the action (until near the end) was far less ridiculously over the top than most recent action movies (Hobbes & Shaw anyone?).
    Re: HFR, I also found it horrible in The Hobbit, but I saw this in full 120 FPS 3D+ at a Dolby Cinema and it was as you would say “visually sumptuous.”
    It gets 4 Stars from me, maybe 4.5... probably your equivalent of an A-.

  • Diego Mendez
    Diego Mendez 4 days ago +2

    Can you review “Judy” when you get a chance? I think you’d really like it

  • Diego Mendez
    Diego Mendez 4 days ago

    Can you review “Judy” when you get a chance? I think you’d really like it

  • Hassan Chop!
    Hassan Chop! 4 days ago +1

    Will Smith can't act his way out of a paper bag, don't know how he still gets work. He is definitely not an action star.

    • FrankNitty 3000
      FrankNitty 3000 Day ago

      You can be THAT famous without being really average. Law of nature.

  • MrNokodemion
    MrNokodemion 4 days ago

    oh heck - i need to watch these reviews as anti-dote in some way,..hadnt been to the threatre in a while - just didnt imagine a movie could actually be as bad as this. felt like being swallowed up into some incredibly-morose sinkhole of movie boredom - didnt even it make past the first half hour, just had to leave. thank god i didnt get to the cgi part - thought it may have been some kind of cool remake of old gemini man show, but i hadn't checked - oh heck brain-drain, and just so hard to imagine why ang lee would have bothered with it. very weird & hard to fathom no end.

  • Purple Film
    Purple Film 4 days ago

    You mean to tell me no one went to see Gemini Man the way it was Supposed to be watched? Wtf!?

  • Ceeboy ForLife
    Ceeboy ForLife 4 days ago

    I won't lie, my main issue was the bad guy didnt think to tell the clone "By the way you're a clone of this other dude, you're about to kill." Nope not once. Overall the script seemed a little lacking. Certain parts were rediculous beyound belief.
    Ok an entry agent, whos basicly Secretary level can beat a field agent in hand to hand combat, Shoot skilled soldiers who train day and night like you'll see in the movie and she picks them off no problem when the most action she has ever had was monitoring another agent and she failed at that, but ok whatever. And too top it all of she still wanted to work for an agency who tried to KILL HER because i guess that job is so astute and prestige she can imaging working for the FBI or some other low class agency. Nope she loves the action, what an idiot.
    Here's another thing, how is the clone on a college campus, has friends, clearly attends school and was handed a drivers liscense, passport, SSC at the school he's ALREADY ATTENDING WITH HIS NEW NAME ON IT? Again lazy writing.
    It was ok though i guess, the action kept me engaged.

  • Aaron Weiss
    Aaron Weiss 4 days ago

    saw it before I saw this and I COMPLETELY AGREE with you.

  • Darren Moore
    Darren Moore 4 days ago

    Saw it last night and was very disappointed. You articulated my feelings which was I didn't like the script. I also didn't like the frame rate. The de-aging was good except that outdoor scene. I don't think you are to harsh. I agree how did Ang Lee direct this? I agree D

  • fangal12
    fangal12 4 days ago

    I'm not usually one to comment on Chris' shirt but damn that's an AWESOME t-shirt.

  • José Carlos Baranda

    Why does will smith love making shit movies

  • Roman Soto
    Roman Soto 4 days ago +6

    Let's also not forget Benioff also co-wrote X-Men Origins: Wolverine.